The Oscars of Books-2013 Reads

I loved the Oscars this year. I loved Lupita’s emotional moment on stage. I resonated with every cry from her lips, receiving her award,  Best Actress for 12 Years a Slave. Also a best film.

Slavery is a heavy word. It’s a heavy history. Often, my mind goes haywire when I read or say that word. As a creative individual I find it a terrifying thing to imagine or remember and I don’t know how to deal with the history.

That sharp and painful past.

I’m growing up and I’ll figure out how to look at history the best way.

But hey, before I steer myself off-course from what I want to say, the Oscars gave me a fun idea. What if I listed the Oscars for my favorite books and characters? So I did just that.

The books in my list didn’t necessarily have to be released in 2013 but I did read them last year and I loved them!

Well, here you go! My Oscars for Books-2013!

image

•The Best Male Character Oscar goes to Charlie in The Perks of Being a Wallflower written by Steve Chbosky.

Charlie is young, super-innocent and full of potential. He is such an honest character. His best friend just committed suicide during summer and he has shifted to a new school where he’s all new and insecure. His high school story is one you will never forget. It’s nostalgic for adults and resonates with the youth, perfect for everyone.

Runner up to Best Male Character is Peeta Mellark from the Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins.

This young man’s undying love for Katniss, to the point that he risks his life to keep her alive is remarkable. More though, his sense of, ‘the world does not own me’ is the bravest emotion I’ve found in the Hunger Games.

•Best Female Character goes to Carey Violet Blackburn in the emotional book, If You Find Me by Emily Murdoch.

Her story is shattering and tear-dropping. She is one of the strongest female characters I’ve ever read about. Props to Carey!

Runner up in this category is… (now this was a hard one)… Katniss Everdeen.

She risks everything she is and has for the best of everyone else. And for the best future available for her sister, Primrose. No matter how deadly the cost. Katniss is an innocent girl thrown into a hurricane.

•Best Male Supporting Character… Cinna, also from The Hunger Games.

Cinna is a brave, down to earth, totally honest with himself role model. And very artistic and creative. He knew he would die for what he did. This man is a mountain lion.

•Best Female Supporting Character is the beloved Jenessa Blackburn in If You Find Me. (Carey’s younger sister who she calls Ness).

Simply put, she’s so adorable she makes angels look like vampires.

•Best Couple… this goes to Hazel and Agustus in The Fault in Our Stars by John Green.

A sick love story that broke my heart. Can’t wait to see the movie too!

•Best Kiss? Well I don’t read romance and I haven’t really seen a big moment kiss in the books I’ve read. So this goes blank for me, sorry. Maybe you can fill it.

Now to the books.

•Best Book: The Perks of Being a Wallflower, Steve Chbosky.

If you ask me what is my best book, I’d tell you, that’s a very unfair question. But if I had to put a finger on last year’s best read then it would have to be this. This book literally made my bones rattle with emotion.

Runner up to the Best Book is The Fault in Our Stars, John Green.

It’s one of those books that I’m so happy I read. In a single day. Remarkable stuff.

•Best Action: The Fall of Five, Pittacus Lore.
This 4th book in the I Am Number Four Series (the Lorien Legacies) which I couldn’t wait to read didn’t fail to overpress me. If you want a ton of action, I Am Number Four books have surpassed Transformers in my list! (Especially the Rise of Nine!).

•Best Fight: Lena vs Serafine in Beautiful Creatures, Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl.
This epic battle between these two witches made Beautiful Creatures worth the read to me.

•Best Ending: The Fall of Five.

Mind-blowing cliff-hanger! Can barely wait for the next book. I wish I could tell you about it but that would be a spoiler. 😉

Runner up to Best Ending: Catching Fire.

You saw the movie, you know what I’m talking ’bout!
…what’s that? You haven’t read or seen it yet? Buy the DVD now!

•Best Imagery: The Lost Files: The Last Days of Lorien (I Am Number Four), Pittacus Lore.

This book is color rich! Had my mind bursting with color all the way!

Our Runner up here: Catching Fire (Hunger Games), Suzanne Collins.

The world of Panem and the Arena… beautiful.

Hope you like the idea. You can do this too and share it with a friend. If there is a book I’d like to read again, (I almost never repeat the same book… maybe Harry Potter) it would be If You Find Me, Emily Murdoch. Carey’s story is one that made me speechless.

I’m grateful that I’ve read many awesome books. In fact, I never get past the 3rd chapter if a book doesn’t excite and stir me enough or blow me away.

I’m grateful to all the great authors before me who have made my days and nights more exciting and adventurous.

For a life outside this world, ironically, a life  still inside my head.

I’m grateful for all the writing lessons I’ve learned from all the other writers through their books and interviews.

And not to forget the Motion Picture companies who put our favorite stories on the big screen!

Speaking of books-turned-movies, I can smell Divergent and The Fault in Our Stars around the corner.

And that popcorn too! Oh shit, my mouth is watering already.

Forgive me, I missed breakfast.

I found a post about upcoming films based on our most popular stories. See the trailera on the blog here.

I bet some of you have seen the trailers already, you can still get pics of this book blogger’s  experience at the Divergent Premiere in Chicago. Her name is Anna and she’s great! So is the post. You should really check it out.

See it all here.

Thank You for chilling with me today. It’s great to talk to you. I hope you get to see the movie adaptions for your favorite books… sniff sniff… MockingJay Part One in November, right? I can smell that one already!

By the way, that song for Horizon is coming along and you’ll have it soon! I’m really excited about this and I can’t wait to share it with you.

Print-on-demand for Horizon is also still in the works, the final touches of course.

For now, it’s still on Story Cartel but there are only 9 days left for the free offer. If you’ve just picked up Horizon I hope you are loving it.

Who knows, maybe Aadrika could win Best Female Supporting Character on Your Oscars list! If anyone in Horizon wins an award from You, let me know and I’ll throw a little party with a big smile on this face. 😉

Thanks for subscribing, *|FNAME|*! It’s wonderful to talk to you.

P&L

Leave a Reply

