Sticks and Stones can Break Your Bones

Sticks and stones can break your bones but the right words will fix you!

I think that sentence right there summarizes my past week. There are times when you feel like it’s you against the world. And sometimes the Universe drops you a couple of words to balance your feet on the ground. So you don’t fall into despair. 

These words come from great people, your friends, books, TV and in my case, Pinterest.

I came across a couple of uplifting and inspiring quotes last week and I didn’t want to keep them to myself. I also didn’t want to share them in the most obvious way. So I put a twist. Here’s a story of my Sunday of Quotes in pictures. If you want to share quotes in a sneaky, special and not so common way just because you like to do something differently then here’s what you can do.

Step 1: Write down the quotes that matter to you.

I wrote a couple of some quotes down. This one in particular, I found while googling Apple and Goodreads at the same time. It’s an old one from the late Steve Jobs. 

Step 2: Go to Your Nearby Bookstore. (if they still exist because ebooks are killing the mortar and brick homes for books).

I waltz into the Scholastic bookstore at our mall that is actually too small to be called a mall so we’ve actually dubbed it as the “small”.

Step 3: Pick a book with a Great Cover. (They have a better chance at being sold)

I picked this book, Hungry as the Sea by Wilbur Smith and opened it up.

Step 4: Place your written quote in the pages of the book.

While doing this is did a double take at the spooky security cameras at the corner. You know, just in case they think you’re planting bombs.

Step 5: Repeat step 3 and 4 over and over until all your best quotes are used up.

I picked Paulo Coelho’s Like The Flowing River for my last quote. If you don’t want to remain anonymous, you can leave a contact like a Twitter name or a phone number if you want, just in case the buyer of the book finds your quote inside and would like to thank you.

Fun?

It sure was for me. Go ahead and give it a try. Maybe you could think of something even cooler than this! Perhaps you will also like the quotes that made my week great. 

Here they are:

“The people who are crazy enough to think they can change the world are the ones who do” -Steve Jobs

Life is about using the whole box of crayons!

A river cuts through a rock not because of its power but its persistence.

“Faith can move mountains”
-Jesus

La foi transporte des montagnes!
-Same as previous quote, now in French.

The Future is Exciting!!
-with double exclamation marks. 

If God will lead you to it, he will lead you through it!
I misspelled this one and didn’t notice until I got to the bookstore. So I ended up keeping it. I guess it was meant for me. 🙂

Did any of the quotes touch you? Comment or send me an email to let me know. I’d also love to hear your awesome quotes too. Please share.

And if you’re inspiredhgggggggvsbebdbfbbfbfbfbrbrbrbbrbrbrbfbfbfbtnfngbgbfbffbbtbtbtbtbtbttbtbt

Horizon Song Update:
The Song for Horizon is back in the making one more time. We started last week and it’s coming great. Can’t wait till I’m able to share it!

We’re composing again because there was a tragedy-yes-with the previous one I wanted to share with you. I’ll let you know about it once you already get to listen to this new one.

And after you get the soundtrack I will he able to talk more about my upcoming book, Play with My Hair.

Aside from all this work, Goodreads did me a favor of torturing my mind through their June Newsletter. I was bummed at how badly I wanted to read just about every YA and sci-fi/fanstasy book I saw, including a couple of Mystery/Thriller books like Stephen King’s Mr. Mercedes.

My book of choice is The Girl With All Gifts  by M. R. Carey. Share what you’re reading too in the comments. Or just shoot me an email instead.

Great talking to you.
Thanks a lot for hanging in there!
P&L

Duggy

Leave a Reply

